Butternut Squash Soup with Curry

Butternut squash was $1.50 each (EACH!) at Trader Joe’s recently so, naturally, I got the biggest one. Normally at my neighborhood grocery store they’re about $1.50/lb., so I couldn’t resist. When I impulsively went back for more the next week I realized I had perhaps a bit too much, so I chopped one up and froze it for later. (New obsession: freezing anything and everything so that I’ve always got key ingredients on hand.) Butternut/pumpkin and curry are two of my favorite flavor combinations, and this is its incarnation:

Cut up about 3-4 lbs. of Butternut squash, 2 yellow onions and 2 McIntosh apples (peeled) into 1-inch cubes. Toss them with about 3 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of pepper. Roast in a single layer for 30-45 minutes at 425, tossing occasionally  until very soft. (I divided mine into two baking dishes.)

When the veggies are done, put them all in your blender (I used the “hot soup” function on my Vitamix, you could also put them in your food processor in batches, or use an immersion blender) along with 2-4 cups of chicken broth (I made my own, super easy using leftover chicken pieces, and cheap!). Add ~1 tsp of good curry powder (I also added some hot madras curry powder, I was very heavy handed here in order to balance out the sweetness of the squash). Start out with less broth and add more, depending on how thick you like your soup. Ina Garten says to serve with toasted cashews and bananas, but this seemed weird to me so we ate it straight up, with a healthy lump of Greek yoghurt for good measure.

2 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Soup with Curry

  1. Pingback: Butternut Squash Soup | Chop Boston

  2. Pingback: Butternut Squash and Chickpea Stew | Nourishing and Dissertating

Leave a Reply

