Blueberry Kale Smoothie

IMAG0013Ever since we got our Vitamix (have I referenced my Vitamix in every post so far on this blog? Maybe.) we (read: me) have had a green smoothie of some sort nearly every day. Not only are they delicious but they’re filling and absolutely nutritious. I have only made one green smoothie I didn’t like and I blame it on the strawberries. I’m still looking for a strawberry kale smoothie recipe that isn’t weird, if anyone has a suggestion! My friend Paul over at Kalesmoothierecipes.com has lots of delicious combinations if you’re hoping to amplify or simply incorporate a kale smoothie routine into your day.

This particular iteration had 1 cup apple juice, about a half cup of blueberries, a whole banana, about a 1/2 inch knob of ginger (peeled), about two handfulls of kale, a cup or so of pineapple, and a bosc pear. I also always throw in some ground flaxseed and chia seeds, both loaded with fiber, omega-3s and protein. This is one of my favorite smoothies yet, and it was all happy accident!

Image

4 thoughts on “Blueberry Kale Smoothie

  1. This may have convinced me to go for the Vitamix. I am in between a juicer and a vitamix but the Vitamix seems sooooo much more versatile. Smoothies are probably a lot more filling than juice.

    • They are so very versatile but also so expensive! Even with all of our C&B gift certificates we still spent a couple hundred dollars. Juicers are quite limiting and eliminate all the pulp, aka the really healthy stuff! You can make “juice” by adding water to the blended fruit. Once I thought, “A juicer would be nice” and then I smacked myself and selected the ‘smoothie’ setting on my Vitamix. Cook’s Illustrated just rated one almost just as high for less than half the price! It’s the Breville “The Hemisphere Control” (model BBL605XL). It was the co-winner along with the Vitamix and retails at $199! They said they were so impressed they might award it the sole top spot next time. Think about it!

  2. OOOHHH! Awesome tip! I actually think that’s reasonable and it looks like it’s on sale for like $160 some places online. Considering I’m using a blender that cost $20 at Walmart and smells like burning plastic every time I use it, I’m sure anything would seem like a step up. Ultimately I want to make my own baby food — so I will look at the reviews for that function.

Leave a Reply

