Arugula Salad with Smoked Salmon, Poached Egg and Lemon Parmesan Dressing

Arugula Salad with Poached Egg, Smoked Salmon and Lemon Parmeson Dressing

We always have arugula in our refrigerator because, as my husband will happily do with spinach, I have begun to eat it by the handful right out of the bag. I don’t think I can ever get to the point where I eat spinach like potato chips (and good on you if you love it that much) but I feel pretty good about my sincere love for something green, whether plain or dressed.

Another reason I always buy a big box of arugula is so that I can make this salad, which I eat for lunch at least once a week. It is easy to prepare so I don’t have to feel bad for taking a long lunch (an easy thing to do when you work from home!) and the dressing keeps in the fridge for a few days if you want a redux.

Smoked salmon is often expensive but I’ve found it at Trader Joe’s for only about $5.50, which is a great deal considering I get about four salads out of that. This salad is also FODMAP friendly if you have dietary restrictions.

Oh, and poached eggs? Well, other than that eggs are one of my favorite foods, I have become the queen of the perfectly poached egg, and all thanks to Alton Brown’s fail-proof tutorial. Check it! Poached eggs preserve everything I love about a good fried egg – slightly set whites and a runny yolk that bursts when you pierce it – yet has none of the added fat required for frying.

Lemon Parmesan Dressing:

1/3 cup freshly grated or shredded Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
2 Tbsp. fresh squeezed lemon juice
1 tsp. finely grated lemon peel (about 1/2 a lemon)
Salt and pepper to taste

Emulsify in a blender and drizzle over a bed of arugula with cherry tomatoes, smoked salmon and at least one poached egg.

3 thoughts on “Arugula Salad with Smoked Salmon, Poached Egg and Lemon Parmesan Dressing

  1. Pingback: ¡A huevo! Word of the Week and a Healthy Breakfast | PsyKdeliaSmith's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

